When You Feel Punched in the Gut, Let Grace Soothe You

Tonya S. Ware
3 min readJan 1, 2024
Five (the number of grace) doves perched on a roof top beneath a blue sky with a tree in the background.
Pexels-matthias-zomes-422210.jpg

Do you sometimes wonder how a good God can let bad things happen?

While reading a story in Bebe Nicholson’s book, Thrift Store, I felt compelled to stop and reflect on the goodness of grace. If you look for and acknowledge grace, you’ll find light when darkness enshrouds you.

That’s how it works for me.

The year, 2022, ended with a shock to my family and me. None of us expected Mom to close her eyes for the last time on this side of Heaven. But that’s what she did as I gently washed her face.

“Did she stop breathing?” my sister, who was also caring for Mom, asked.

“I think so,” I responded.

I walked outside, not realizing her brother and sisters were here, at her house, to see her. Before they got out of the vehicle, with quivering lips, I informed them, “Mom stopped breathing a minute ago.” No one spoke as emotions bubbled up in them. “She’s in Heaven now.” I tried to find words of comfort for us.

Two days earlier, Mom was released from the hospital after a six-week stay. Other than having babies and fracturing her ankle, it was the first time the 86-year-young, sassy, full-of-life, independent, beloved mother and grandmother was hospitalized.

--

--

Tonya S. Ware

Live healthy, age well, laugh, and have fun. Let’s make it happen. tonyasware@gmail.com